LibGuides: Modern Languages: Modern Langauges

► Databases

Britannica Moderna This link opens in a new window
When and why would you use this database?
This database includes reference sources written in Spanish; the content is targeted to Spanish speakers and to upper-level Spanish language learners
What kind of sources included are included?
Reference articles, images, and video clips

Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
When and why would you use this database?
This database includes news sources from around the world; most sources are in English, but you can filter results by language. Use it to find perspectives from the country you are studying.
What kind of sources included are included?
Primarily news articles. Also includes some magazine and journal articles.

Encyclopedia Britannica Spanish Edition: Escolar (K-8) This link opens in a new window
When and why would you use this database?
This database includes reference sources written in Spanish; the content is targeted to younger students and to Spanish language learners.
What kind of sources included are included?
Reference articles, images, and video clips

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Includes sources in French and Spanish. Use the Langauge filter once you have search results

► Searching for online sources

Country Code Top-Level Domains
Use [site:] and these top-level domains to search for soures from that country. Example: [seachterm site:.fr] to find sources from France

Use Google Advanced Search to find results in a specific language

► Resources from Boston Public Library

Sign up for a BPL eCard
All residents of the state of Massachusetts are eligible for a BPL eCard. Individuals who work in Massachusetts are also eligible.
MakeMake
MakeMake has 300 Spanish-language eBooks for children. The collection includes picture books, read-along books and interactive books. The interface and search are also in Spanish.
OverDrive Magazines
See the tutorial below for how to search for magazines in French, Spanish, Chinese, Arabic, and other languages.

► Ebooks and Audiobooks from Sora

Sora

For best results, add access to other library collections; this tutorial will show you how. Adding MLS Commonwealth eBook collection, Boston Public Library, Minuteman Library Network, SAILS, and CLAMS networks will greatly expand the number of books you have access to!

Modern Languages

Here's an interactive tutorial

Here's an interactive tutorial